our expertise


Director & Co-Founder

Bruce McManus is a world leader in biomarker discovery and development with vast experience in directing large health initiatives.  

Dr. McManus is a Professor in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the University of British Columbia. His investigative program is focused on inflammatory diseases of the heart, blood vessels and lungs. He has long been committed to training and mentoring scientists across a range of disciplines.

He serves as the CEO of the Centre of Excellence for Prevention of Organ Failure (PROOF Centre), where he and colleagues have discovered and developed a number of predictive, diagnostic, and prognostic biomarker panels for better management of heart, lung and kidney failure.

Dr. McManus is also the Co-Director of the Institute for Heart + Lung Health. From 2000 to 2006, he has served as the inaugural Scientific Director of the Institute of Circulatory and Respiratory Health within the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR).

Dr. McManus has co-authored over 360 scientific publications, as well as many book chapters, and has edited four books. He has served as the Councillor for the International Society for Heart Research and for the American Society for Investigative Pathology. He is past-President of the Society for Cardiovascular Pathology. He is a member of several scientific advisory boards in the technology, biotechnology and informatics industries.

In recognition of his contributions to science and medicine, Dr. McManus was elected to the Royal Society of Canada as a Fellow of the Academy of Sciences in 2002 and as a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences in 2005. He was honoured with the 2005 Research Achievement Award of the Canadian Cardiovascular Society and the 2009 Scientific Excellence Award of the Canadian Society for Atherosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology. In 2012, he received the Milton Wong Leadership Award from LifeSciences BC, the Aubrey J. Tingle Prize from the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research and the Alumni Achievement Award from the University of Saskatchewan.